Achievements, Awards

Encouraging Thunder Award From Tessa !


Encouraging Thunder Award
Encouraging Thunder Award

Lovely Tessa and her blog, Tessa Can Do It! has nominated me for an Encouraging Thunder Award – I’m thrilled, because it’s my first award ever!  Read her blog here:-

http://tessacandoit.wordpress.com

I’m very excited to be nominated for it – thank you, Tessa! Do follow her blog, she’s an inspiration to anyone suffering from any chronic illness, and in particular those involving mental health issues.

(Hope I get this right!)

My reasons for blogging:

1. As a creative outlet for expressing my feelings and experiences in relation to being disabled and chronically ill. I was finally diagnosed with thyroid and adrenal problems in 2000 (only part of the answer), breast cancer in 2007 (a blind-siding shock), and fibromyalgia (fibro what?) in 2011. I was then 49 and had been ill for most of my life, so my Mystery Illness went undiagnosed for more than three decades.

2. Because I want to help as many people as I can through writing about what I have learned about human health. I first started asking doctors for help when I was a teenager, but got nowhere fast. Since I was (and still am) determined to be well, I developed a passionate interest in natural medicine. It has helped me enormously, and I learn more every day. I also want to offer emotional as well as practical support, because I had precious little of that even throughout my breast cancer.

My 5 nominees:

http://storyshucker.wordpress.com Stuart M. Perkins

http://findingoutfibro.wordpress.com Jessi Finds Out Fibro

http://fibrofeels.wordpress.com Fibro Feels

http://yadadarcyyada.com Yadadarcyyada (D. Parker)

https://indisposedandundiagnosed.wordpress.com Indisposed And Undiagnosed

******PLEASE NOTE! **********

I’M HAVING TROUBLE GETTING THESE LINKS TO WORK, SO IF ANYONE CAN SEE WHAT I’VE DONE WRONG, PLEASE TELL ME! (Using iPad, if that makes a difference.)

ALL I DID WAS COPY THE SITE ADDRESS FROM THE ADDRESS BAR AT THE TOP OF EACH PAGE, WHICH IS USUALLY WHERE THE CORRECT ADDRESS FOR ANY WEBSITE IS TO BE FOUND.

THREE OF THE LINKS ABOVE WON’T TAKE ME TO THE BLOG THAT THEY SHOULD DO WHEN I CLICK ON THEM IN THE FINISHED POST. TWO OF THEM DO TAKE ME TO THE RIGHT PLACE.

HELP ME, SOMEONE! (Pretty please…)

___________________________________________________________________

Do not feel pressured to accept this award! 

Rules for accepting the award

Post it on your blog.
Add the Encouraging Thunder logo.
Grant other bloggers the award.
Mention your purpose in blogging.
Thank the person who nominated you.

19 thoughts on “Encouraging Thunder Award From Tessa !

  1. I do not use this. I use the old one. The new one sucks!! —- the whichever route I take into it, dashboard, from a previous post, whatever, it still takes me to the blighted Beep Beep Boop one.

    Like

      1. Well I take a completed post. Slide my cursor over the left side to my sites appears and then the dashboard drops down and stay on the dashboard and go down the side to posts and then when the next choice appears you slide it to New post on the far left side. Anywhere else and you can end up with that stupid new one.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Intresting how different platforms interact with Wp. I can get to that old editor screen without having to go via an old or just started post, just straight to it from the dashboard (I mean the menu that drops down on the left hand side of the screen, and says Comments, Posts and a ton of other My Site stuff). Other platforms seem only to be able to access that if they bring up a previously saved draft or post. Clearly a WP compatibility issue. Maybe one day they’ll sort it out!

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Aw sweetheart, I’m sorry. I will keep sending you good vibes and all the spoons I can find. Sorry you’re in the middle of a rough patch right now, I hope it’s short lived and you are able to get back to someplace approximating “normal” for you. (I know, our normal is no one else’s normal, not even close, but it’s what we have to work with and it’s all relative anyway.) Lots of love darling. ((gentle hugs))

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats on your award, well-deserved!!! 🙂
    Thank you kindly for nomination, I really appreciate the thought. I don’t accept awards anymore – this is going to sound totally snotty, but I was being nominated so often (yes, I’m that fabulous snort!) that it was taking a lot of time so I decided instead to take that time and put it into comments, liking, sharing, writing, etc. But again, thank you for thinking of me. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You can just type in the url if copy/paste isn’t working, as long it’s the right address it was show up as a link on here – in your tool bar thingie there is a button that looks like a paperclip and one that looks like a broken paperclip – type in your url on your post (usually you then copy/paste once you’ve clicked on that paperclip and I also check ‘Open to new link’, but you can just as easily clink the paperclip and type in the url). You can edit your post and try that. 🙂 Might be different on an iPad, that’s above my pay grade. 😉
      Wait, you’re not using the Beep Beep Bop version of editing, are you, because it sucks (aaargggh WordPress!). I start with that (if anyone knows how to avoid it completely, please let me know), then save and go in to blog posts, find my edit and use the classic version, few if any glitches. 🙂
      Hope that helps, I know, I use a lot of technical terms, like ‘thingie’ and ‘paperclip looking thingie’, don’t be intimidated by my knowledge. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I go to the left side of top of page and hover my cursor over it until the old one appears. I won’t use that other one, it is stupid and missing things I like.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ipad is touch screen, and hovering is v hit and miss.

        I have officially given up trying to sort the links out. The information WP is putting in them must be wrong, because I know all the addresses are now correct despite WP telling me three of these sites are figments of my imagination. Bloody well aren’t, and I’m knackered and fed up with trying to get the stupid thing to work like it should. It must be something to do with the Add Media formatting, because Jo says copy-pasting my links into her browser makes them work, so I don’t think I’ve done anything dumb. There’s only so much time one person can spend on banging head against brick wall, and I’ve had enough now! X

        Would also really be quite useful if it gave me a choice between the Beep Beep Blooper Blooper editor, and the “old one” I keep hearing about…..whichever route I take into it, dashboard, from a previous post, whatever, it still takes me to the blighted Beep Beep Boop one.

        Think is an ipad-WP issue, and my laptop is in a different room, weighs a ton, and squashes me if I use it in bed. Since bed is where I spend most of my time, I’m going to have to put up with WP and iPad behaving like brats.

        Oh, hey! Or I could just magically get really well again, and be able to get up every day, and sit at my old desk, using my laptop! (Smacks hand against forehead) Why didn’t I think of that before????? Lol!

        Thanks everyone, for all the help 🙂
        I’ve now fallen off my learning curve! X

        Liked by 1 person

  3. 🙂 It WAS 5am by the time I surrendered the argument with WP, and I literally couldn’t see straight, so I must have edited out the : by mistake on Cass’s address.

    No, Finding Out Fibro is very much alive and kicking when I click through to her on my followers list, I did miss out the “Out”, but it’s still taking me to the page that says “Finding Fibro Doesn’t Exist”.

    I know the first two work, and those were also copied from their address bars. Odd that one is an https and the other an http with no S.

    I can’t work it out at all!

    I had to move all my text down the page, then use the Add Media to put the links in at the top, to get the addresses as links and to stop them popping up in random places within the text. Then I had to really struggle to re-position the text back to the top of the page so that the links were at the bottom, which was a nightmare. It will NOT let me paste into an empty space, like a new line – I had to put some text in then copy what I wanted into the middle of the just-written text, then edit out the just-written text I didn’t want. It won’t let me move links by copy-paste at all.

    I’m using the same New Post (editor) screen that you are. The My Site, Reader, Follow, Reblog etc buttons are all top left of my screen, and the make new post thing is under Publish-New in the drop-down menu under the My Site button. I get it now that that drop down menu under the W (top very left) is the dashboard 🙂

    Still don’t see why the address bar addresses aren’t working.

    L. X

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Tessa – unfortunately, half the links I managed to insert don’t work, so I’ve obv done SOMETHING wrong. I don’t know how, because I copied them from the address bar. Any ideas? X

      Like

      1. well undiagnosedandindisposed you forgot the : and the .com or whatever her ending is.She is Australia, it might be different. If you copied them exactly I don’t understand why they don’t work. I can copy/paste to the URL line and they all come up but finding fibor which is obviously gone and the one you forgot to put the : in. 2 work by clicking on the.

        Like

Comment / Reply Here - Let Me Know What You Think! <3

