Chronic Illness, Fibro Fog, Mornings, Pills

Forget Me Nots………


Forgetting to take my morning meds (steroids, thyroid stuff, pain killers, hormones) is never a great start to the day.

We set them out the night before, in a cute pill-pot (because THAT makes it so much less loathsome!) and when Ben brings me my morning yoghurt drink (with live “good gut” bacteria, naturally) I reflexively reach for the pills and knock them back with the drink.

But I go through periods where I simply don’t remember to take them. It’s stupid. My brain is stupid. I’ve been taking them every day for years – how can I possibly forget them?

Last night, as you may be aware if you’ve been bored or kind enough to read my blog, was a moderately horrible end to a very horrible day, and consequently I didn’t get to sleep til the birds started singing and the darkness morphed into pale fingers of light delicately probing through the gap in my curtains. Of course I felt rubbish this morning. That’s no different from most days, to be honest, and it’s certainly no surprise that after yesterday I would wake up feeling run over, beaten up, and poisoned.

But to forget my morning pills…..that’s a biggie for me. I only realised just now, when I went to put the rest of the day’s drugs in the cute pill-pot (I have to count out my doses for the day and put them in that pot so I can check if I’ve taken what I should, when I should. I lose track, otherwise.) I flipped the pretty lid, et voila! The pot still had my morning dose inside it. I wouldn’t have known if I hadn’t opened it. I would have just spent an even worse day than usual, wondering wtf I’d got wrong this time.

Thank God I had the sense to put a system in place to catch these failings. I think I’ll have to get Ben to go back to prompting me by adding “Pills!” to his morning greeting.

Effing fibro. ย ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

10 thoughts on “Forget Me Nots………

  1. I have the pills in the 4 times a day for one week box and I forget the morning a lot, better now that I blog about it, but the stupidest thing I did was to take my night pills in the morning after I had already taken the night bills. That has all of my psychiatric and Fibro meds plus half my diabetes pill and my allergy pills. Boy was I messed up for a day til things settled down.I have to be more careful where I take the pills from.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That sounds like a nightmare! Mixing up those marked boxes is one of the reasons I put my basic morning meds in a single pot – I *just* have to remember to take them. I usually see the pot next to the bed, but lately I’ve been too foggy in the mornings to notice it. Man, what we all have to cope with :-/

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I never did that before. I had already swallowed them by the time I realized it. I never used to miss or mistake my pills before all this brain fog and I don’t have someone to make sure I take them. They sit right out on the computer. I am here a lot. How can I forget them?

        Liked by 1 person

  2. i have me pills in a box with a slot for each day..and another box with a slot for each evening. and yet, even after 14 yr, sometimes i still fail to take the pills in a morning slot. now, i have come up with a reminder system, i set my cell phone to have an alarm for each time of day for each pill, so it keeps going off til i turn it off when i actually do take the pills. it is helping a lot. hope your ‘ben’ alarm works too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol, it has done in the past when I’ve forgotten! I just need a reminder, but I loathe real alarms that make persistent noises at me until I comply. Just reminds me how tied to meds I am :-/. X

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Google pill keepers that are like mine. My ‘pill-pot’ is a set of 7 daily trays with 4 sections per day for spacing the pill times. I think that I have a picture of it in one of my posts. I’m able to put all of my meds for the week in one convenient place.

    Like

    1. I can’t do the big trays. I HAVE big trays, 3 of them that hold around 12 sections each, with supplies of meds in. Those live on the coffee table shelves, next to the sofa. Those are for sofa days, or my evening time with B. The bedside drawers are full of meds too, and I have my portable meds kit that fits into a small bag, along with my Daily Pot. That sits next to the bed, and gets rammed in my bag when I go out to appointments etc. I also have a Going Away meds bag, with longer-time and emergency stuff like antibiotics (have to protect my cancer arm from lymphoedema if I get cut, bitten or scratched). I can’t do the day-
      marked boxes, or the AM, NOON, PM, EVE boxes. They’re too big for me to carry around or put next to the bed.
      Whatever works for us is what we go with ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. They aren’t too big. I just posted a story with a picture of mine. You keep the weekly one in a cabinet and only take out one small daily. Each measures approximately 1 and 1/2 inches across and 5 inches long. I don’t recommend it as a portable however (I always have a snap shut pocket carrier for the road), sorry luv! Take a peek at mine anyways. โค๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿถ๐Ÿฑ๐Ÿˆ๐Ÿ‘€๐Ÿ‘…๐ŸŽถsending a healing positive vibes from the universe for you to find relief in the midst of all of the daily shit I see you struggle with. I’m finding that your stories are of benefit to me also. I am so glad that we have met! Genesis song, “Follow You,Follow Me”๐ŸŽผ๐ŸŽต๐ŸŽถeyeโค๐ŸŽถ

        Liked by 1 person

Comment / Reply Here - Let Me Know What You Think! <3

